Ammochostos Gate - Lefkosia District

Coastline - Lemesos District

Aliki Lake - Larnaka District

Aphrodite's Rock- Pafos District

Ammochostos Beach - Ammochostos District

Castle of Keryneia - Keryneia District

Brussels Office

The Office of the Union of Cyprus Municipalities in Brussels was established in July 2005, immediately after the accession of Cyprus as a full member of the European Union, in order to cover the representation needs of the Cypriot Municipalities at the center of European decision making. The Union of Cyprus Municipalities office was the first Union of Local Authorities amongst the then 10 new Member States of the European Union that operated in Brussels.

Office Mission

The mission of the Brussels Office is the active representation of the Union of Cyprus Municipalities and its members
in Brussels and the institutions and organizations relevant to local authorities’ issues, such as the European Committee of the Regions (ECoR) and the
European Council of Municipalities and Regions (CEMR).


The Brussels Office’s specific  objectives are:

  • Supporting the Cyprus National Delegation to the Committee of the Regions through the role of the National Coordinator.

  • Promoting and defending the interests and aspirations of UCM and its members at European and international level.

  • Monitoring and participating in European policy-making processes.

  • Providing support services to the Union and its members as well as to representatives of the Cypriot municipalities visiting Brussels.

  • Networking and information gathering on European policies, dissemination of current information on European affairs to the municipalities, particularly in terms of funding opportunities through European programs, and promoting partnerships for implementation of EU funding projects.

  • Cooperation with representatives of other Cypriot organisations and government in Brussels as well as with other offices, networks and Local Government organizations based in Brussels.

  • Strengthening the links and developing cooperation with the Committee of the Regions, the Council of Europe’s Congress of Local and Regional Authorities (CLRAE), the European Council of Municipalities and Regions (CEMR) and the Assembly of European Regions (AER).

  • Promotion and organization of events in Cyprus and Brussels.

Cooperation with Regional Offices and European Organizations


Brussels Office Announcements

Brussels Office

The Brussels Office of Cyprus Municipalities is located in a very central and easily accessible area, near the buildings of the European Parliament and the Committee of the Regions, next to the so-called European Triangle in the center of Brussels:


Union of Cyprus Municipalities Brussels Office

Square de Meeûs 1, 1000, Brussels
Tel.: 0032 (0) 22138110
Fax: 0032 (0) 22138111